View and Track Collaborator Changes
Revision tracking in WriterDuet is versatile and can be customized to suit many tracking needs. Below is some basic information about using this feature, however this certainly is not the definitive list of all its capabilities.
- Add everyone to this revision? – select Yes or No.
- Yes – all collaborators will be tracked with this selection. Making an ‘Everyone revision’ means you are tracking all the changes made to the script while the checkbox underneath ‘Track’ is checked, regardless of who made them. When you press ‘View’, you will see changes made to the script by anyone and everyone, as long as ‘Track’ was checked when those changes were made.
- No – will only track the user who sets up the revision. All collaborators will still be able to view the revision in their own accounts, but the changes they make to the script won’t be tracked by a ‘Personal revision’ unless they created it.
- Note: the admin of the script does not need to set up all the tracking for everyone collaborating on the script. If not everyone is being tracked, it will work best for each collaborator to turn on tracking for their own changes, then each user can choose who to track and view as desired.
- Naming the revision – be sure to give a clear name to the revision so it is easy to distinguish later what changes are being viewed. For example, if changes are being tracked daily, naming by date may be best. However, if changes are being tracked for each collaborator, assigning a specified color to each user and calling the revision the name of the writer might be easiest.
- Track button – pressing this creates and turns on tracking for a new revision. The revision can always be renamed, turned off, and otherwise altered.
- Track check box – if checked, changes are being tracked for this revision. If not checked, changes are no longer being tracked for this revision. The Track box can be turned on and off as much as desired to track different stages throughout the writing process.
- View check box – if checked, changes tracked under the associated revision are shown in the specified color. If not checked, the changes will not be visible, however the changes can still be tracked even if not viewed.
- Note: if more than one revision is being viewed that applies to the same user more than once, the formatting will apply to only the top revision. For example, if everyone is being tracked and viewed for two revisions that overlap in time, the color formatting will only show in the script for the first revision, not the second.
- Ignore check box – if checked for a specific revision set, changes made during that revision that overlap with another revision won’t be shown when ‘View’ is checked. For example, imagine you’re adding a character that may not stay in the script, so you add a revision called ‘New Character’. You already have a revision called ‘Your Name’ that tracks all the revisions you make to the script. Now you want to show your Producer the progress you’ve made, but you don’t like the New Character changes. You can check ‘Ignore’ for the ‘New Character’ revision to essentially cancel out those changes. With ‘Ignore’ checked, you can view the ‘Your Name’ revisions without seeing the overlapped ‘New Character’ revision, and send those to your Producer.
- Full check box – the default is for a heading with the revision name to appear at the top of only the pages that have been affected by the revision. If ‘Full’ is check and you ‘View’ the revision, the revision heading will appear on all pages of the script, even if a change was not made on every page. Only the top-most ‘Full’ revision will appear in the heading.
- Color selection – the colors can be changed at any time by using the drop-down selection tool.
- Everyone – determines whether an action made in the View & Track window applies to all writers on the script, or only yourself. This selection can also be switched at any time to either track everyone or only track your own changes.
- Symbol – if this box is checked, the associated symbol will appear to the right of any line altered by that revision when that revision’s ‘View’ checkbox is selected. If not selected, the symbols will not appear when viewing the revision. You can backspace and type to change a revision’s symbol.
- Remove – old revisions can be deleted. Keep in mind, once a revision is deleted and ‘Done’ has been selected to exit the Revisions window, this revision is permanently deleted and cannot be recovered, even through exporting an old version. All the work that was being tracked will still be in the script, however the data that was collected by the tracking feature will not be recovered.
- Live updates (no deleted text) – Pro feature – Pro users have the option to see live updates when a revision is being viewed. This means that while a revision is being viewed and tracked, any qualifying additions will be immediately shown with the specified color. If this option is not selected, new additions to a revision that is being both viewed and tracked will not change color until the user clicks on the name of the revision that appears to the right of the script under live chat. Clicking this will update to show the current revisions in their color.